Click for Academy of Management home page

Academy of Management

Social Issues in Management (SIM) Division Awards

Below are the 2014 AOM SIM Division Award Winners.  For more information on the awards, as well as past winners, click here.

2014 Best Paper Award
Best Paper Award
Author: Michael Pirson (Fordham University)
Title: Reconnecting Management Theory & Social Welfare: A Humanistic Perspective
(left to right): Michael Pirson and Mike Barnett, Division Chair (Rutgers University)

2014 Best Book Award
Best Book Award
Author: Archie B. Carroll (University of Georgia), Kenneth J. Lipartito (Florida International University), James E. Post (Boston University), Patricia H. Werhane (DePaul University), and Kenneth E. Goodpaster (University of St. Thomas)
Title: Corporate Responsibility: The American Experience
(left to right): Bruce Rayton (University of Bath School of Management) and Patricia Werhane

2014 Best Dissertation Award
Best Dissertation Award
Author: Vivek Soundararajan (Royal Holloway University of London)
Title: Understanding the Construction of Working Conditions in SMEs in Developing Countries: The Case of Indian Garment Exporting Firms
(left to right): Miriam Muethel (WHU-Otto Beisheim School of Management) and Vivek Soundararajan

2014 Best Student Paper Award
Student Paper Award
Author: Sarah Glozer (University of Nottingham/ICCSR)
Title: Constructing Legitimacy in Online Corporate Social Responsibility Communication
(left to right): Lori Hart (Sage Publications-Sponsor), Rob Phillips (University of Richmond), Sarah Glozer, and Rob Caruana (University of Nottingham)

2014 Marcus Sumner Award
Marcus Sumner Award
Recipient: Barry M. Mitnick (University of Pittsburgh) 
(left to right): Mike Barnett, Barry Mitnick, Jonathon Doh (Villanova University)

Academy of Management
Member Services
Academy of Management
Online Opportunities
Academy of Management