2019 Publication Awards

Each year during the Annual Meeting, the Academy of Management recognizes authors of journal articles that were published in the previous year in each of the Academy's six journals. The selection process for the award committee for each journal is determined by the individual journal. In general, articles selected:

  • Advance the mission of the individual publication;
  • Bring forth core ideas that are original, important, and provocative;
  • Have a clear and important contribution to the field of management

Editors create a separate advisory committee to determine and select the article(s) from the prior year as the "Best Article."


Academy of Management Discoveries

Discoveries logo
AMD Best Article Award Committee: Mary Waller (chair), Paul Adler, and Adam Grant

The mission of Academy of Management Discoveries is to publish phenomenon-driven empirical research that theories of management and organizations neither adequately predict nor explain. Data on these poorly-understood phenomena can come from any source, including ethnographic observations, lab and field experiments, field surveys, meta-analyses, construct validation research, and replication studies. AMD welcomes exploratory research at the pre-theory stage of knowledge development, where it is premature to specify hypotheses, and which generates surprising findings likely to stimulate and guide further exploration and analysis. This research must be grounded in rigorous state-of-the-art methods, present strong and persuasive evidence, and offer interesting and important implications for management theory and practice.



Marlen de la Chaux
University of Cambridge
Helen Haugh
University of Cambridge
Royston Greenwood
University of Alberta


 Finalists for AMD's Best Article Award

Anders R. Villadsen
Aarhus University
Jesper N. Wulff
Aarhus University
Kimberly D. Elsbach
University of California - Davis
Beth A. Bechky
New York University

Academy of Management Journal

Journal logo
AMJ Best Article Award Committee: Marc Gruber (chair), Reddi Kotha, Oliver Alexy, Wendy Smith, Riki Takeuchi, Michael Frese, Jennifer Howard-Grenville, Keith Hmieleski, Brent Scott, Zeki Simsek, John Dencker, and Katherine DeCelles

The mission of the Academy of Management Journal is to publish empirical research that tests, extends, or builds management theory and contributes to management practice. The AMJ Best Article Award embodies this mission by recognizing outstanding articles that make strong empirical and theoretical contributions and highlight the significance of those contributions to the management field.



"We Ask Men to Win and Women Not to Lose: Closing the Gender Gap in Startup Funding"
Note: This article was accepted for publication during the term of AMJ’s previous Editor-in-Chief, Gerard George.
Dana Kanze
Columbia University
Laura Huang
Harvard University
Mark A. Conley
Columbia University
E. Tory Higgins
Columbia University


 Finalists for AMJ's Best Article Award

Alessandro Piazza
Columbia University
Julien Jourdan
Université Paris-Dauphine, PSL Research University
Hayagreeva Rao
Stanford University
Henrich R. Greve

Academy of Management Learning & Education

Learning and Education logo
AMLE Best Article Award Committee: Danna Greenberg, Megan Gerhardt, Damian O’Doherty

The mission of the Academy of Management Learning & Education journal is to advance the knowledge and practice of management learning and education by publishing theoretical models and reviews, qualitative and quantitative research, critiques, exchanges and retrospectives on any substantive topic that is conceived with, and draws implications for, how managers learn and the educational process and context.



Nancy J. Adler
McGill University
Ann-Wil Harzing
Middlesex University



Sophie Jané
Case Western Reserve University
Chantal Van Esch
California State Polytechnic, Pomona
Diana Bilimoria
Case Western Reserve University


 Finalists for AMLE's Best Article Award

Catherine Cassell
University of Birmingham
Philip M. Podsakoff
University of Florida, Gainesville
Nathan P. Podsakoff
University of Arizona, Tucson
Paresh Mishra
Indiana University and Purdue University, Fort Wayne
Carly Escue
University of Florida, Gainesville

Academy of Management Perspectives

AMP Best Article Award Committee: Hugh O’Neill (chair), Debra Shapiro, and Janet Marler

The mission of the Academy of Management Perspectives journal is to provide accessible articles about important issues concerning management and business. Articles published in AMP translate research findings for a non-expert audience and rely on evidence based research to advance understanding of management issues that are relevant to a broad audience.



Mike W. Peng
University of Texas at Dallas
Sunny Li Sun
University of Texas at Dallas
Brian Pinkham
University of Texas at Dallas
Hao Chen
University of Texas at Dallas



Howard E. Aldrich
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Martin Ruef
Duke University


 Finalists for AMP's Best Article Award

Benson Honig, editor
McMaster University
Joseph Lampel, editor
University of Manchester
Gerard P. Hodgkinson
University of Manchester
Eugene Sadler-Smith
University of Surrey

Academy of Management Review

Review logo
AMR Best Article Award Committee: Sharon Alvarez (chair), Francisco Polidoro, Michelle Hammond, Eric Anicich, and Ryan Fehr

The mission of the Academy of Management Review journal is to publish new theoretical insights that advance the understanding of management and organizations. The AMR publishes novel, insightful and carefully crafted conceptual work that challenge conventional wisdom concerning all aspects of organizations and their roles in society.



Allan Afuah
University of Michigan
Chris Tucci
Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne



Joerg Sydow
Freie Universität Berlin
Georg Schreyoegg
Freie Universität Berlin
Jochen Koch
European University Viadrina



Ko Kuwabara
INSEAD Singapore
Claudius A. Hildebrand
Boston Consulting Group
Xi Zou
Nanyang Technological University


 Finalists for AMR's Best Article Award

Pratima Bansal
Western University
Anna Kim
HEC Montreal
Michael O. Wood
University of Waterloo
William A. Kahn
Boston University
Michelle A. Barton
Boston University
Colin M. Fisher
University College London
Emily D. Heaphy
University of Rhode Island
Erin M. Reid
McMaster University
Elizabeth D. Rouse
Boston University
Jessica R. Methot
Rutgers University
Emily H. Rosado-Solomon
Rutgers University
David G. Allen
Texas Christian University and University of Warwick


Academy of Management Annals

Annals logo
Annals Best Article Award Committee: Kathleen Sutcliffe, James Westphal, Miriam Erez, and Alan Meyer

The mission of the Academy of Management Annals is to provide up-to-date, in-depth examinations of the latest advances in various management fields. Each yearly volume features critical and potentially provocative research reviews written by leading scholars exploring an assortment of research topics. Annals reviews summarize and/or challenge established assumptions and concepts, pinpoint problems and factual errors, inspire discussions, and illuminate possible avenues for further study. Research reviews published in the Annals are geared toward academic scholars in management and professionals in allied fields, such as sociology of organizations and organizational psychology.



Julie Battilana
Harvard Business School
Bernard Leca
Groupe ESC Rouen
Eva Boxenbaum
Copenhagen Business School



Markus Hällgren
UMEA University
Linda Rouleau
HEC Montreal
Mark de Rond
Cambridge University
  • icon-facebook
  • icon-twitter
  • icon-youtube
  • icon-linkedIn
555 Pleasantville Road, Suite N200, Briarcliff Manor, NY 10510, USA