Click for Academy of Management home page

Academy of Management

International Management (IM) Division Awards

International Management (IM) Division Awards

The International Management Division is delighted to highlight some of the winners of awards at the AOM 2014 Annual Meeting in Philadelphia. 

Pankaj Ghemawat of IESE Business School and New York University received the Strategy& Eminent Scholar Award for lifetime achievement in international management scholarship.

2014 Strategy & Eminent Scholar Award
Pankaj Ghemawat
Recipient: Pankaj Ghemawat (IESE Business School, NYU)
(left to right): Sean Jin Chang, Division Chair Elect (National University of Singapore), John Mezias, Immediate Past Division Chair (Miami University), Pankaj Ghemawat, (IESE and NYU), David Collis (Harvard University), Africa Arino (IESE)

Martin Gannon of California State University at San Marcos received the Outstanding Educator Award for his outstanding contribution to international management teaching and education.

Marcus M. Larsen of Copenhagen Business School received the Barry M. Richman Best Dissertation Award for the Copenhagen Business School Ph.D thesis "The Organizational Design of Offshoring."

2014 Barry M. Richman Best Dissertation Award
Marcus Larsen
Author: Marcus M. Larsen (Copenhagen Business School)
Title: The Organizational Design of Offshoring
(left to right): Jennifer Spencer, Division Chair (George Washington University), Marcus M. Larsen

Olivier Bertrand of SKEMA Business School, Marie-Ann Betschinger of NRU Higher School of Economics, and Alexander Settles of Rutgers University received the IM Division CEIBS Best Paper Award for the paper "The Relevance of Political Affinity for the Bidding Strategy in Cross-Border Acquisitions.

2014 CEIBS Best Paper Award
Marie-Ann, Olivier, and Alexander
Authors: Olivier Bertrand (SKEMA Business School), Marie-Ann Betschinger (NRU Higher School of Economics), and Alexander Settles (Rutgers University)
Title: The Relevance of Political Affinity for the Bidding Strategy in Cross-Border Acquisitions
(left to right): Marie-Ann Betschinger, Jennifer Spencer, Alexander Settles

Other awards of the division are: IM Division Fundação Dom Cabral Best Paper in Strategy/IB Theory Award; IM Division Best Paper in OB/HRM/OT; IM Division GWU-CIBER Best Paper Award; IM Division Willamette University, Atkinson Graduate School of Management Best Paper in International Ethics, Social Responsibility, and/or Sustainability; IM Division Gustavson School Award for Best Qualitative Paper in International Business; IM Division CGIO Best Paper in International Corporate Governance; and Douglas Nigh Award. More information on the winners and finalists appears in the IM division newsletter.

Academy of Management
Member Services
Academy of Management
Online Opportunities
Academy of Management