Click for Academy of Management home page

Academy of Management

Management Education and Development (MED) Division Awards

November 25, 2014

MED gave five awards in recognition of research excellence at the 2014 AOM. The process of shortlisting was driven by recommendations from the reviewers; hence all papers were included in the awards process. From this shortlist papers a panel of former MED award winners reviewed the submissions and made award decisions.

MED Best Paper in Management Education Award
best Paper in Mgt Education
Authors: Paul Tristen Balwant (University of West Indies), Ute Stephan (Aston University) and Kamal Birdi
Sponsor: OBTS and the Journal of Management Education
Paper: Practice What You Preach: Instructors As Transformational Leaders In Higher Education Classrooms
(left to right): Charles Wankel, MED Research Coordinator (St. John's University), Paul Balwant, Joe Seltzer (OBTS President), Jacob Eisenberg, MED Chairperson (University College of Dublin)

MED Best Paper in Graduate Management Education Award.
Best Paper in Grad Mgt Education
Authors: Quy Nguyen Huy (INSEAD), Weiru Chen (CEIBS) and Ganqui Tang
Sponsor: The Graduate Management Admission Council
Paper: Emotional Teaching: How CEOs Develop Top Management Teams in Chinese Firms
(left to right): Jacob Eisenberg, Charles Wankel, Weiru Chen, V. Seshan, MED Treasurer (Pepperdine University)

MED Global Forum Best Paper
Global Forum Best Paper
Authors: Olga Ryazanova (University College of Dublin) and Peter McNamara (National University of Ireland, Maynooth)
Sponsor: Manchester Business School
Paper: Language, Socialization and Networks: Knowledge Creation in Globalized Business Schools
(left to right): Charles Wankel, Michael Bresnen (Manchester Business School), Olga Ryazanova, Peter McNamara, V. Seshan, Jacob Eisenberg

MED Junior Faculty Best Paper Award
Junior Faculty Best Paper Winners
Authors: Antoaneta Petkova (San Francisco State University), Eric Lamm (San Francisco State University) and Theresa Roeder (San Francisco State University)
Sponsor: SAGE/Journal of Leadership and Organizational Studies
Paper: (Di)stressing Feedback: The Impact Of Feedback Type On Students' Teamwork Effectiveness
(left to right): Lori Hart (Sage Publications), Antoaneta Petkova, V. Seshan, Jacob Eisenberg, Charles Wankel

MED Best Symposium in Management Education & Development.
Organizers and Presenters: Michaela Schippers (Erasmus University-Rotterdam), Edwin Locke (University of Maryland), Dominique Morisano (University of Toronto), Ad Scheepers (Erasmus University), Jordan Peterson, Cheryl Travers (Loughborough University), Raymond Randall (Loughborough University) and Alistair Cheyne (Loughborough University)
Sponsor: McGraw Hill/Irwin
Title: Writing about Goals Enhances Academic Performance and Aids Personal Development

In addition, the first ASFOR (Italian Association for Management Development) "Best AOM MED Division PDW Award" was given to "Responsible Education in Action: Organizational, Curricular and Classroom Practice" a professional development workshop organized by Olivier Laasch, Dirk C. Moosmayer, and Agata Stachowicz-Stanusch; as presenters, Jonas Haertle, David Chandler, Abiola Olukemi Ogunyemi, Scott Kelley, Mary Catherine Gentile, Claus Dierksmeier, Jean-Christophe Carteron, and Ross Angus McDonald offered this workshop with a focus on the Principles of Responsible Management Education (PRME).  The judges for this award attended each of the finalist PDWs and ranked this as the most interactive, international and with the strongest potential to improve management education. The ASFOR award to the Best MED PDW will be offered in Vancouver for the second time.

>> Management Education and Development (MED) Division Awards

Academy of Management
Member Services
Academy of Management
Online Opportunities
Academy of Management