2020 Career Achievement Awards

The 2020 Career Achievement Award recipients were recognized during a special award presentation virtual session as part of the 2020 AOM Annual Meeting.

2020 Career Achievement Awards Committee:  Brian Boyd (Chair), City University of Hong Kong; Sekou Bermiss, University of Texas at Austin; Tina Dacin, Queen's University; Corinne Post, Lehigh University; and Inger Stensaker, Norwegian School of Economics.


Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is an all-Academy award presented annually to a candidate who has demonstrated excellence in developing or enhancing a field of study, founding or creatively editing a journal, or helping to build institutions through creative or unusually effective service.

2020AnnualMeeting_CAA_Service_AndrewVandeVen_500x500The 2020 Academy of Management Distinguished Service Award was presented to Andrew Van de Ven (watch video).

Distinguished Award for Scholarly Contributions to Management

The Award for Scholarly Contributions to Management is granted on an annual basis for significant contributions that have advanced the field of management and organizational knowledge and practice. Significant scholarly contributions may take the form of conceptual, theoretical, or empirical developments having significant impact upon management knowledge and practice.

2020AnnualMeeting_CAA_Scholarly_JoelBrockner_500x500pngThe 2020 Academy of Management Distinguished Award for Scholarly Contributions to Management was presented to Joel Brockner (watch video).

Other Awards

The Distinguished Educator Award is presented annually to an outstanding individual who has excelled in developing doctoral students, effective teaching in the classroom, fostering pedagogical innovations, and/or disseminating new teaching methods and designs.

The Distinguished Scholar-Practitioner Award is an all-Academy award presented annually to a candidate who demonstrates long-term, significant contributions in one or more of the following areas: Successful application of theory or research in practice and/or contribution to knowledge through extraction of learning from practice; authorship of scholarly works which have substantively affected the practice of management; and integration of research and practice that is respected by peers (both practitioner and academic).

No awardee was recognized for these two awards in 2020.


  • icon-facebook
  • icon-twitter
  • icon-youtube
  • icon-linkedIn
555 Pleasantville Road, Suite N200, Briarcliff Manor, NY 10510, USA