PDW: November 2020 AMD Virtual Paper Development Workshop

Add to:

Academy of Management Discoveries (AMD) is pleased to offer a unique opportunity for management scholars to develop their empirical exploration papers, the AMD Paper Development Workshop in November 2020.

The purpose of this AMD Paper Development Workshop is to pair experienced AMD authors/editors with participants who are interested in learning about empirical exploration and improving their manuscripts centered on empirical exploration. If you are unsure whether you are engaging in empirical exploration, please read more about AMD here and here.

To apply for participation in the AMD Paper Development Workshop, you are required to submit an extended abstract. Here are the guidelines all submissions should follow:

  • Extended abstracts should be no more than 10 pages double-spaced, excluding tables, figures and references.
  • The extended abstract should include discussions of: the phenomenon of interest, how existing theory fails to explain the phenomenon, the methodology, findings centered on one or more discoveries (what emerged from the empirical exploration), and implications for future theorizing in management. Authors are encouraged to include headers to demarcate these sections so as to best facilitate discussion.
  • Authors are welcome to submit questions at the end of the extended abstract, specifically around areas for which they would like help, or questions around how to craft the paper for AMD. These questions do not count against the 10-page limit.

AMD editor Kevin Rockmann will choose the extended abstracts that will be invited for discussion. Extended abstracts will be accepted on a competitive basis. As (virtual) discussions will revolve around extended abstracts submitted to and accepted for each workshop, only those authors with accepted manuscripts will be invited to attend. Note: Papers that are already under review at AMD (or elsewhere) cannot be submitted to this workshop.

This three hour workshop will be held 13 November 2020 at

  • UTC - 1pm
  • Vancouver - 5am
  • New York - 8am
  • Paris - 2pm
  • Tel Aviv - 3pm
  • Hong Kong - 9pm
  • Sydney - 12am (14 Nov)

Click to register with an extended abstract.

Registration deadline: 1 November 2020 (notification of acceptance by 8 November 2020).